The Ancient and Accepted Rite in Norfolk extends over the same geographical area administered by The Craft Province of Norfolk. There are 15 Chapters administered by an Inspector General with a District Recorder. Individual Chapters have their own Recorder (secretary).

The District of Norfolk was inaugurated on the 4th March 1998 when the new District of Cambridge and Isle of Ely was also formed thus completing the division of the old District of East Anglia.

Albert Edward Chapter No 87 is the oldest Chapter in the District having been consecrated in December 1880. Clarence Chapter No 116 also dates back to the late 1800’s having been consecrated in June 1891.

Chapters In The District of Norfolk

Chapters in Norfolk District with their meeting place and date of Consecration

9 Dec 1880

Albert Edward Chapter No. 87

Meeting at Kings Lynn

15 June 1891

Clarence Chapter No. 116

Meeting at Norwich

26 March 1923

Star Of The East Chapter No. 239

Meeting at Gt. Yarmouth

15 Oct 1962

St. Withburga Chapter No. 568

Meeting at Dereham

18 June 1969

Alfred Spencer Goddard Chapter No. 571

Meeting at Sherringham

3 March 1975

St. Winnold Chapter No. 778

Meeting at Downham Market

7 July 1977

Roger Bigod Chapter No. 829

Meeting at Thetford

29 Jan 1979

St. Fursey Chapter No. 852

Meeting at Gt. Yarmouth

4 Nov 1980

Fakenham Lancaster Chapter No. 882

Meeting at Fakenham

14 Jan 1982

Magna Crofta Chapter No. 906

Meeting at Wroxham

22 Sept 1992

William d'Albini Chapter No. 1039

Meeting at Wymondham

25 Nov 2002

Norfolk Sovereigns Chapter No. 1150

Meeting at Gt. Yarmouth

20 March 2003

Bishop Herbert Chapter No. 1152

Meeting at Norwich (Drayton)

21 Sept 2004

Wroxham Chapter No. 1164

7 Oct 2008

Guella Chapter No. 1190


To see more details of the Chapter just click on it's name above and you will be taken to the Chapter page